WV Code 11-5-1 requires all persons who own taxable
personal property located in West Virginia as of July 1
report this property to the Assessor's Office each year.
The Assessor's Office works diligently to make inquiry of
property owners each year, however, is the legal
responsibility of every property owner to report personal
property to the Assessor's Office each year.
Personal property should be reported to the Assessor's
Office between July 1 and October 1 of each year.
Assessments received after Oct. 1 are subject to penalty
in accordance with WV Code. No assessments can be accepted
for the upcoming tax year after the end of January.
Assessments not received between July 1 and January 30
must be assessed as SUPPLEMENTS.
Assessor's Office uses part-time field deputies to gather
personal property assessments each summer.
This is done as a courtesy and
convenience for county residents. The field deputies
conduct visits during evening hours until dusk and also on
Saturdays. If you are not home when they stop, you
should find that a form has been left by the deputy.
Please complete this form and return it to the Personal
Property Office as soon as possible. If a field deputy has
not stopped at your residence by the end of August, please
come into the Courthouse to be assessed. The Assessor's
Office is open from 9 to 4 Monday through Friday, and
also on Saturdays from 9 to 12. If you cannot make it into
the office to get assessed, at least call us at (304)
373-2230. Remember, report to the Assessor's Office each
summer the personal property you owned on July 1st.
you have a dog that is at least six months old, you need
to obtain a County Dog Tag each year for the pet.
The cost for a County Dog Tag is currently $3.00. In
addition to the County Dog Tag, if you live in Ripley or
Ravenswood, you need to obtain a City Dog Tag. The cost
for a City Dog Tag is currently $1.00 for a male dog or a
spayed female, and $2.00 for an unspayed female. If you
have a licensed dog kennel, you will need to obtain a
Kennel License each year. If you have any questions,
please call the Assessor's Office at (304) 373-2230
personal property records indicate that you have reported
owning sheep and/or goats in the
The West Virginia Legislature
enacted a new law, WV Code 7-7-6e , in an effort to expand
the Coyote Control Program statewide. This new
section of state code imposes a fee of $1.00 (one dollar)
per head on all breeding age sheep and goats as of July 1
of each year. The money collected from this new fee
is to be sent to the WV Commissioner of Agriculture to
enter into a cooperative service agreement with the US
Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service (APHIS) and Wildlife Services (WS) to
expand the Coyote Control Program throughout West
past few years. If you are still a sheep or goat
owner this July 1, please contact this office in order
that we may discuss this new head tax with you and answer
any questions that you may have. The phone number
for the personal property office (304) 373-2230.
All collections and receipts will
be made here at the office or by mail. The County
Dog Tax (brass tag) and City Dog Tax (aluminum tag), is
not affected by this new sheep and goat tax. Please
pay your dog tax as usual.
Any person who does not pay
this new head tax is not eligible for the services
provided by the State and Federal cooperative agreement
for the control of coyote predation.